Faculty board splits over choosing president

Michelle O’Connor-Ratcliff on Tuesday night time was reelected president of the Poway Unified Faculty District Board of Schooling for a second consecutive yr, however it didn’t come simply.

That is the primary time in no less than a decade that a board member has served as president for 2 consecutive years.

Tuesday’s month-to-month board assembly additionally noticed the board members saying goodbye to Andy Patapow, who retired after 20 years on the board and welcoming newly-elected board member Darshana Patel.

Tensions rose in the course of the election of board officers with the reelection of O’Connor-Ratcliff as president and T.J. Zane as vice-president. Patel was elected as board clerk.

All three votes have been three-2, with O’Connor-Ratcliff, Zane and Patel on one aspect and board members Kimberley Beatty and Charles Sellers on the opposite. Scholar board consultant Ella Smith forged her preferential, non-binding vote for O’Connor-Ratcliff and Zane, however abstained in the course of the clerk vote.

Previous to being modified to an election course of final yr, the board members had beforehand crammed the board officer positions on a rotational foundation. Beatty steered returning to this technique, saying that it might get rid of board disharmony and that abandoning this “historic custom” final yr had led to probably the most divisive board ever. Returning to rotating positions would, Beatty stated, set a constructive tone for the board to comply with and encourage consensus.

Beatty prompt that in utilizing the rotational technique, Zane ought to be president, Sellers vice-president and Beatty clerk, which means Sellers would start serving as president subsequent December and Beatty in December 2018.

“(Rotating positions is the) wealthy custom that traditionally has been the best way the board has ruled,” Beatty stated, including that on this method nobody feels slighted and provides everybody an opportunity to study within the positions.

In accordance with Beatty’s suggestion, Sellers nominated Zane for president, however Zane declined the nomination and as an alternative nominated O’Connor-Ratcliff.

Sellers referred to as this “unprecedented” because the PUSD has by no means had a board member function president twice consecutively and everybody doesn’t agree with the nomination. “Everybody else has patiently waited for his or her flip for management,” Sellers stated earlier than nominating himself for president.

After dropping the vote for president, Sellers additionally nominated himself for vice-president whereas O’Connor-Ratcliff nominated Zane. Zane gained in a three–2 vote.

O’Connor-Ratcliff nominated Sellers for the place of clerk, however Sellers declined the nomination and as an alternative nominated Beatty. O’Connor-Ratcliff then nominated Patel to the seen shock of the viewers.

Patel was elected clerk after Patel finally voted for herself, saying it was a troublesome determination.

The subsequent common board assembly might be held at 6 p.m. on Tuesday, Jan. 17.

E-mail: information@pomeradonews.com

Source link